Election results for Huon

Election results for Huon

Mountain River medical doctor Dr Bastian Seidel (pictured) is set to be elected to the Tasmanian Legislative Council representing the Division of Huon, following preliminary counting of results since voting closed on Saturday, August 1.

Percentage of first preferences based on the Tasmanian Electoral Commission’s counting of votes and returned postal votes as of Sunday, August 2: Labor candidate Bastian Seidel (31.48 per cent) has a strong lead over incumbent Robert Armstrong (18.88 per cent), Tasmanian Green’s candidate Pat Caruana (17.25 per cent) and independent candidate Dean Harriss (16.18 percent).

The Legislative Council is the upper house of the Parliament of Tasmania and is traditionally majority non-partisan.

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission can receive postal ballot papers until 10am on August 11, for votes recorded before 6pm on polling day.

It is possible that up to 1300 Huon postal votes could still be returned.

Distribution of preferences will be undertaken after the postal period closes.